A Glimmer of Hope

On a Thursday, I arrived at Mays Elementary to recruit more girls into the program. As I walked down the hall, I saw Nicole. She saw me, too, and popped her head out of her classroom. With excitement, she asked, “Do we have Girls in the Game today, too?” I explained that I was there to get more girls signed up and that we only meet on Tuesdays. She scowled and rolled her eyes (again) and quickly walked off.

To me, her look of excitement was a big sign of success. It meant she was invested, whether she knew it or not. Maybe she did know it and letting her guard down to ask if we were having programming today only to learn we weren’t was just another example of disappointment and of being let down. I am determined to build trust with Nicole, to let her see I believe in her and to help her believe in herself. How we would get there, I wasn’t quite sure. All I knew was I wasn’t giving up.

-Coach Miranda

One thought on “A Glimmer of Hope

  1. Wow! I suddenly realized that there is so much more here in couching girls a sport than just couching the actual components of the sport.

Leave a Reply

