Our True Essence by Meghan Morgan

Last night I attended an event centered around Women’s Wellness. I went for two reasons. First, I like to support events that focus on women-related issues. And second, the event was hosted by one of Girls in the Game’s long-standing partners and I wanted to show my appreciation for all they do for us. To be honest, I wasn’t particularly interested in the topic, which was herb gardening and care, but I was looking forward to seeing Kim, our partner and a great champion of Girls in the Game.

4912011_f260Kim’s really funny and we get along well. I always look forward to seeing her and catching up, and last night was no exception. When I walked in, I noticed that Kim had cut her hair and I complimented her on the new look and asked her if she was happy with it.

“I am,” she replied. “I feel like I’m getting closer to my true essence.”

I loved that response and I thought about it during my drive home.

Girls in the Game is going through the process of putting together a new strategic plan. As a part of that process we’ve been spending time revisiting our mission and vision, attempting to put into words what Girls in the Game does, and more importantly, why we do it.

The process involves asking some tough questions, as well as some easy questions. We’ve talked about what we want for girls and how our programs help accomplish that. While finding the exact right words will inevitably be the hardest part, a number of overwhelming truths about Girls in the Game have been agreed on during the process.

We all agreed that Girls in the Game helps girls become leaders. Girls gain confidence and recognize that they are strong and capable. We want girls to be successful in life, however they define success.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAWe’ve talked a lot about girls finding their voices and growing into the best versions of themselves. So when Kim told me that her new haircut brought her closer to her true essence, it reminded me of the discussions we’ve been having about our vision for girls. That’s exactly what we want for them – to discover who they truly are, and to embrace that discovery.

That doesn’t happen overnight, which is one of the reasons that we serve girls as they grow up. Nor does it stop when they reach a certain age. Just like Kim’s new haircut renewed her sense of self, we hope that girls’ experiences in Girls in the Game will arm them with the tools they need to keep discovering new strengths throughout their lifetime. After all, for most people, it takes a while to find that perfect haircut.

Leave a Reply

