Grateful by Girls in the Game Staff & Coaches

In honor of Thanksgiving week, we asked Girls in the Game staff and coaches to weigh in on the various things that they are thankful for this year.  From big ideas to the little things that make a difference, read more about what we’re grateful for this season!

Alia Abdul-Samad: I am thankful for a place I can call home when so many people right now don’t remember what having a home feels like anymore. I am also thankful I am surrounded by so much love and support both at work and in my personal life that has allowed me to do and experience some incredible things this year.

Pershing1Jerrilyn Arthur: I’m thankful for Girls in the Game participants reminding me not to take myself so seriously while I’m dealing with the stress of grad school.

Mary Banker: I am thankful for bike rides with my niece PJ, eating cupcakes with Elly, and playing football with my nieces and nephew. Also the Justin Bieber carpool video 😉

Sarey Barragan: I am thankful for my family, our health, and my education.

Sandi Caldrone: I’m grateful to be a part of such a talented team. Also, for the Quaker snacks that arrived early.

Norma Castrejon: I am thankful for the supportive family I have.  I am also thankful for being able to further my education, and having the opportunity to do my internship at Girls in the Game.

Ericka Dawson: I’m grateful for a loving family and peace in my heart!

Jasmine Fein: I am thankful for friends and family and the opportunity to make a difference in the girls’ lives!

Justine Kessler: I am thankful that my children have warm outerwear and relationships with their grandparents.

McAuliffeDawn Kobel: I am thankful for resilience, both at the office and in my personal life. Being surrounded by people who face challenges, adapt and carry on inspires me and encourages my own strength.

Jess Larson: I am grateful for a new job in my old hometown, and for a good (hopefully) Star Wars movie coming out in my lifetime.

Margaret Miles: I’m thankful for the sense of community I feel anytime I’m at a Girls in the Game program!

Meghan Morgan: I’m grateful for the committed and talented staff we have at Girls in the Game.

Marcella Oglesby: I am thankful for State Parks, hiking trails, and bike paths. I am blessed to having enough to eat, to have access to grocery stores, and to be able to make healthy meals. Grateful that I am living in a country where equal rights are the law, and where people are able to march, hold vigils, and make demands for those rights. I am thankful that I intern at Girls in the Game, and I am able to surround myself with strong women who care about making the world a better place.  I am grateful that I have a partner that upholds the same values as I do, and is willing to make self-sacrifices to contribute to society, to give back, and so that I may continue my education.

IMG_1999Jessica Pereira: I’m thankful for lots of things! I’m thankful that sponsors and supporters of Girls in the Game realize how amazing and necessary our programs are, I’m thankful for how dedicated my coworkers are about our common cause, and I’m thankful for my hard-working and flexible interns and coordinators!

Anni Rayas: I am thankful for key lime pie, my parents and siblings, and the learning experience that this year has been and will continue to be!

Norma Sanchez-Sosa: I am thankful for my family, health, work, internship, school and so much more.

cat-on-youtubeEssie Shacher-Hill: I am grateful for cat videos on YouTube.

Taiesha Stroud: I’m thankful for being able to provide a service for marginalized girls that promotes leadership building, fitness, and health.

Laura Sullivan: I am thankful for family, friends, and Bananagrams

Beth Tumiel: I’m thankful for all of the women who surround me who have shaped me into who I am today.  My sister and mother, my women friends, women colleagues, and the girls I’ve met before and after Girls in the Game.

Danielle Wilberschied: I am thankful for my academic opportunities and those who support me on this journey. Trust the process.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

And, of course, we are all extremely grateful for you, our supporters, who help us make a difference in the lives of girls each and every day. Thank you for all you do, and have a happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

