Superheroes Give Thanks by Girls in the Game Staff

We are brimming with gratitude this time of year. Gratitude for our supporters, volunteers and donors who have made our work of empowering over 3,800 girls in underserved communities last year possible.

We have discovered that we are superheroes for our girls every day. From teaching a new sport, to instilling confidence, every small action makes a world of difference in their lives. We are living our superhero roles this #GivingTuesday on November 29th by sharing our #SuperheroSelfies on social media and encouraging our community of supporters to do the same.

YOU can be a superhero for a girl, and we know your donation and commitment to our mission will impact thousands of girls in the year to come.

A few of our staff members shared what they are thankful for this year at Girls in the Game, and which superhero they look up to. Challenge yourself to be a superhero this year for girls and know that we are thankful for you.

maritza-use
I am a superhero for girls:”By inspiring them to dream more, learn more, do more and become more”

Maritza Jaimes, Juvenile Temporary Detention Center Coordinator

What are you thankful for at Girls in the Game?

I am thankful for the staff that I have the honor of working with, that is full of empowering women. Our goal is to empower other girls to be gamechangers and working at Girls in the Game has done exactly that, empowered me. I am thankful for the women at Girls in the Game that work every day to strengthen other women.

Who is your favorite superhero?

My favorite superhero is Supergirl. She is my favorite because everyone expects her to be the sidekick of Superman but instead she is a strong independent superhero that fights by herself! In the show, she is a multi-talented woman that also has a regular job in an office. The most motivational heroes are regular normal people that are doing great things with or without superpowers.


Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
I am a superhero for girls: “I work with Chicago teens to become leaders in their communities”

Elizabeth White, Teen Programs Manager

What are you thankful for at Girls in the Game?

I am thankful for an amazing team of creative thinkers that are passionate about empowering girls in Chicago. I am grateful for the chance to help shape the amazing, inspiring girls who are not only taking the initiative to be leaders in their communities today, but will undoubtedly influence our world in the future.

Who is your favorite superhero?

Wangari Maathai is a superhero to me. She was a Kenyan environmental conservationist, and human and women’s rights advocate. She was the first African woman to win the Nobel Peace Prize for peace, sustainable conservation and democracy.


Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
I am a superhero for girls: “Because I stand up for what I believe in and inspire my girls”

Cat Splendore, After School Coordinator

What are you thankful for at Girls in the Game?

I’m thankful to work alongside such dedicated and ambitious women who will always put others ahead of themselves. For the opportunity to serve as a role model for girls across the city, with the aim of helping them find their voices. And for a job that has a direct reward–witnessing and participating in the girls having fun and growing.

Who is your favorite superhero?

My favorite super hero is my brother Michael. He has always been supportive and accepting of me, while also consistently challenging and pushing me to work harder and expand my mind! Everyone he encounters he treats with respect and dignity, and I am eternally grateful to have someone like him as my brother.


alecia-superhero
I am a superhero for girls: “Because I train coaches to lead programming confidently!”

Alecia Ivery, Assistant Program Manager

What are you thankful for at Girls in the Game?

I am thankful that Girls in the Game has allowed me to develop special and evolving relationship with the girls I have coached and the young ladies I have had the pleasure to coach with. I have been able to be a part of so many participants’ journeys at Girls in the Game. I am so thankful I can play a part in cheering them on and helping them be those future leaders that will make a powerful impact in the world.

Who is your favorite superhero?

When you think of a superhero you think of someone who is tough mentally and physically. Who is selfless and put others first and is determined to do what is right for themselves and others. My favorite superhero possesses these traits and more. She is my awesome grandmother Rosemary Cary.


beth-cropped
I am a superhero for girls: “I remind them how smart, funny and talented they are”

Beth Tumiel, Programming Director

What are you thankful for at Girls in the Game?

What am not thankful for, working at Girls in the Game?  I love working for an organization that is, at it’s very essence, mission driven.  At least once a day, by somebody different in the organization, I am encounter the question, “How will this impact our work with girls?” It’s inspiring to be around so many smart, talented people who use those smarts and talents to make sure that girls have the chance to be leaders in their lives and in their communities.

Who is your favorite superhero?

Favorite superhero. An old friend Hassan Al-Shwally, who passed away a few years ago.  A man who had very little and would still give it away to someone in need. He would always say “a million friends, not one enemy,” and lived in a way to make that so.  Hassan was kind to those whom nobody else was kind to and cared for those who could not care for him.

Leave a Reply

